Cherries on my tongue
Blossoms on my head
I look up and smile
Spring has finally arrived

It’s been waiting at the corner
Of my hometown dirt road
Seated patiently on a wooden bench
That never seems to grow old

Flowers spring beneath its feet
And it smiles with the sun
That begins to peek
Behind the wisps of clouds

Sometimes the rain comes
And it pours on my windowpane
But it doesn’t matter
Spring is here to stay

Yet still
The light dims in it’s eyes
As Summer sits down
At the corner of my hometown
Dirt road

With the crackling heat
It whisks the rain away
And the flowers begin to wilt
Spring is no longer here

Anymore.

Leave a Reply

