I have never felt
More alive
Than in the desultory
Hours of dawn

Coaxing
Caressing
Sweetly-
The daybreak murmurs to me

Whispers of a new
Beginning
A chance to alter
Life as it is

Waxing and waning-
The colors of the new morn
Are
Supple to behold
In my unworthy eyes

It creeps upon me
Like a lithe lover,
Unraveling the blissful languor
Of sleep

I work my way
Out of my airy sheets, ones I-
Seldom leave
And sip from my porcelain
Soundlessly

As not to
Disturb
The dulcet ambiance
Of the morning light.

Leave a Reply

